No unique selling points for your city? No problem!

Home/Blog-En/No unique selling points for your city? No problem!

Create your own selling points!

Can you imagine a small town in Illinois, USA? We have been there a couple of years ago, driving through Illinois from Chicago.

American towns are different than German ones. Most towns in America consist of wide roads, single buildings spread quite far from one another, and they most significantly do not posess a traditional town center as we know it in Europe. What is the secret to the success of this specific town of 2700 inhabitants? How did they achieve to be such a unique tourist hotspot.

You can reach the town within 3 hours from Chicago and 2 hours from St. Louis. The town goes by the name of Casey. There is not really anything special about this town, besides a yearly Popcorn-Festival on Labour Day. What or maybe who makes the difference?  The entrepreneur Jim Bolin. Jim Bolin’s main profession is the oil-business and his hobby is saving cities. I not quite sure if he was aware of  the istagrammability of his action, but one thing is for sure his actions are working. Years ago he started placing XXL everyday objects all around town. Some of the objects that were placed, are huge Dutch wood-shoes, the world biggest rocking chair and an extremely large pencil.

These actions created 12 entries into the Guinness book of world records for the town and along with them world fame. It did not take long until the first visitors wanted to see those XXL-items in person. The town used the marketing for themselves and is now know as the small town with a big heart. I like that a lot, but what does that mean for city and town marketing? The combination of passion, crazy ideas, and the use and support of innovative citizens are important puzzle pieces towards a successful town marketing. How does it work in your town or city? Do not hesitate to send me your project, I love inspirational approaches for town marketing! For now, here is Casey, Illinois: https://www.bigthingssmalltown.com/

The Wieduwilt Manifesto for small towns

December 23rd, 2019|

Seven arguments why your (small) city has a competitive advantage over the big cities! Does the small town have a future? Is the rural area shrinking? Will everyone live in megacities in 30 years? I am tired of reading studies [...]

Structural change?

December 23rd, 2019|

How a city in Iowa handled it. I've watched this 12-minute film several times. The beginning is: depressing! Structural change. A small town was completely dependent of a large company. Everyone worked there. Everyone wanted to work there. All of [...]

Forget the history of your city because …

December 23rd, 2019|

A very simple trick to take your city marketing forward. You know that. No matter what city you are in, there are memories and reminiscences of the past in every corner. Historical pictures, memories of anniversaries, the founding date of [...]

The Bottrop Miner Traffic Lights

December 23rd, 2019|

Bottrop is a mining town - and it will soon have something very special: a miner's traffic light figure. What the Traffic Light Bear means for Berlin is the miner's silhouette for Bottropers. It shows signal to walk or stand [...]

Watch out, nostalgia.

December 22nd, 2019|

How I celebrated my first diploma 23 years ago and what it has to do with you. It was 9:46 am, my defense was over. Except for a little carver, I had done it perfectly. My diploma thesis on environmental [...]

2019-11-13T09:22:39+00:00
Go to Top

Loading...

Kein Alleinstellungsmerkmal für deine Stadt?

//Kein Alleinstellungsmerkmal für deine Stadt?

Dann mach dir eins! 

Stell dir mal eine Kleinstadt in den USA vor. In Illinois. Ja, wir waren da schon, vor ein paar Jahren. Also, wir sind durch Illinois gefahren, von Chicago aus. Ganz ehrlich: Amerikanische Kleinstädte sind nicht wie deutsche. Meist bestehen sie aus breiten Straßen, weit verstreuten, meist einstöckigen Gebäuden und keinem klassischen Zentrum, das wir hier in Europa so lieben. So eine amerikanische Stadt, mit 2700 Einwohnern hat es geschafft, ein touristischer Hotspot zu werden!

Diese Stadt liegt etwa 3 Stunden von Chicago weg und 2 Stunden von St. Louis, die Städte, die immerhin auch Nicht-Amerika-Kennern was sagen. Also es handelt sich um Casey. Die Stadt hat eigentlich nichts besonderes. Eben eine amerikanische Kleinstadt. Immerhin, es gibt zum Labour Day ein alljährliches Popcorn-Festival. Auch das wäre ja mal ne Idee für deutsche Städte. Aber zurück zu Casey. Die Stadt hat etwas oder besser, jemanden Besonderes. Den Unternehmer Jim Bolin. Im Hauptberuf ist er im Öl-Geschäft tätig und im Hobby rettet er Städte. Ob ihm die Instagramability seiner Aktion bewusst ist oder nicht, ist mir nicht bekannt. Fakt ist: Seite Aktionen wirken. Er begann vor Jahren, Alltagsgegenstände in XXL im Stadtgebiet zu platzieren. Zu sehen sind – warum auch immer – überdimensionale holländische Holzschuhe, der weltgrößte Schaukelstuhl, ein Bleistift.

Das brachte dem Unternehmer und damit der Kleinstadt immerhin 12 Einträge ins Guinness Buch der Rekorde und weltweite Berühmtheit ein. Und natürlich kamen bald die ersten Gäste, die sich die XXL-Monumente in echt ansehen wollten. Die Stadt nutzte es und bezeichnet sich heute selbst als kleine Stadt mit großem Herzen.Ich mag es sehr. Und was bedeutet das für das Stadtmarketing? Die Kombination aus Leidenschaft, verrückten Ideen und das Nutzen und Unterstützen der Initiativen der Menschen in der Stadt sind wichtige Bausteine zu einem gelungenen Stadtmarketing. Wie ist es bei Ihnen? Senden Sie mir doch gerne Ihr Projekt!  Hier ist erstmal Casey, Illinois: https://www.bigthingssmalltown.com/ 

#114 – Ist Social Media Zeitverschwendung?

Mai 14th, 2020|

Facebook, Instagram, Youtube, Twitter, LinkedIn, es gibt inzwischen dutzende Plattformen, auf denen man präsent sein darf. "Jana, letztens hast du gesagt, die eigene Website ist sehr wichtig, soll ich meine Social Media Aktivitäten nun einstellen?" Eine neue Frage ist [...]

#113 – Wozu brauche ich eine Webseite?

Mai 12th, 2020|

🤔 Ist es überhaupt noch notwendig eine Webseite zu haben, in Zeiten von Social Media? 🏪 Wo leitest du deine Kunden hin? Wie können Sie mehr über dein Unternehmen herausfinden? 🎧 Antworten auf diese und weitere Fragen zum Thema [...]

#112 – Interview mit Kurt Tepperwein

Mai 10th, 2020|

Kaum einer kann so fesselnd und einleuchtend über Bewusstsein und die großen Lebenszusammenhänge sprechen, wie Kurt #Tepperwein. Er ist einer meiner geistigen Lehrer und ich bewundere ihn sehr. Er schenkte euch und mir seine Zeit für dieses besondere Interview, [...]

#111 – Was du in der Marketing Taktik NICHT machen solltest

Mai 7th, 2020|

❓Was sollte ich in meiner Marketing Taktik auf jeden Fall vermeiden? ‼️ Das ist eine Frage, die ich dieser Tage bekommen habe. Und die erste Antwort darauf ist: Taktik! Hör auf zu taktieren, fang an langfristig zu agieren und [...]

2019-11-07T23:15:26+00:00